All Party Parliamentary Group

Stephen McPartland, MP

Stephen McPartland, MP
The BFC provides the secretariat to the All-Party Parliamentary Furniture Industry Group which provides a forum for Parliamentarians to discuss the issues affecting the sector, including training, export support, and fire safety regulations. The Group is chaired by Stephen McPartland MP, the Member for Stevenage, and draws Members from across the political spectrum and both chambers.

The Group’s officers are as follows:

Name Role Party Constituency
Stephen McPartland MP Chair & Registered Contact Conservative Stevenage
Lord Davies of Coity Vice Chair Labour N/A
Maggie Throup MP Vice Chair Conservative Erewash
Lord Hoyle Vice Chair Labour N/A

Further information on the Group can be found on its APPG Register Entry, available online here

The Group is open to any parliamentarians who have an interest in the furniture industry, whether that be due to a relevant policy portfolio or a constituency interest.

As such, the BFC undertook analysis of the constituency MPs of each BFC Association member to find clusters of furniture industry activity. The following table lists MPs with the most BFC Association members located within their constituency, and represents the focus of the BFC’s parliamentary activities.

The following MPs and Lords are members of the APPG:

Name Constituency BFC Association Members in Constituency Party
Steven Baker MP Wycombe 20 Conservative
Emily Thornberry MP Islington South and Finsbury 19 Labour
Maggie Throup MP Erewash 18 Conservative
Paula Sherriff MP Dewsbury 16 Labour
Greg Hands MP Chelsea and Fulham 11 Conservative
Craig Whittaker MP Calder Valley 9 Conservative
Keir Starmer MP Holborn and St Pancras 9 Labour
Mark Lancaster MP Milton Keynes North 7 Conservative
Jake Berry MP Rossendale and Darwen 7 Conservative
Rebecca Long-Bailey MP Salford and Eccles 7 Conservative
Share This